Ty Webb Has Real Klout

Ty Webb Has Real Klout

While watching the 1980 cult classic Caddyshack this past weekend, I noticed an interesting parallel to social media.  Ty Webb was on to something when he told Judge Smails he didn’t keep score.  I think the conversation went something like this:

Smails: Ty, what did you shoot today?
Webb:  Oh, Judge, I don’t keep score.
Smails: Then how do you measure yourself with other golfers?
Webb:  By height.

I feel like a lot of people on Twitter are concerned too much with “measuring themselves with others,” rather than creating quality content, genuinely connecting with others, and providing value to their followers.  Metrics, ROI, Klout scores, and the like all have their place, but probably shouldn’t be the focus for most people on Twitter.  Find ways to create real conversations and lasting engagement, and the metrics will follow.

I wrote in March about my own personal experience with Twitter, responding to the question “Is Twitter a True Social Network?”.  Thanks again to those who follow my randomness and to those who continue to positively influence me.

Let’s all try to be a bit more like Ty Webb… I’ll go first.

6 thoughts on “Ty Webb Has Real Klout

  1. It’s a lot like the profit paradox we teach about – the more you focus on profits, the more you’re in danger of losing them – focus on customer satisfaction, quality product, good, efficient business practices, taking care of stakeholders, and the profits come. Like happiness – try to be happy and it somehow doesnt’ work as well as merely trying to be a good friend, parent, employee, leader, citizen.

  2. Unfortunately companies like ROI, and somehow Klout has figured out some kind of way to create it. Did you see Vocus recently did blog posts ranking Top 10 bloggers – all based on Klout scores?

    • Yeah – seems like we’re kinda stuck with it for the moment. That’s not necessarily a bad thing, since it does provide something quantitative for online influence. I just don’t love seeing people “engaging” simply to maintain or raise their Klout score.

  3. The problem we have is that companies that are interested in paying for advertising look at these numbers. So unfortunately we can’t ignore them. GAH!! I do wish however, that it was all suspended for the weekend. Would it be so hard for social media to respect that the weekends are family time?

    • Thanks for the comment, Stefanie. I’m still trying to figure out how quickly Klout is able to re-calculate. I know they talk about a daily update, but I’ve had days where I’ve been really engaged online (lots of mentions, RTs, conversations while I was at a conference) and my score actually went down.

  4. Pingback: My Blog: A Year in Review « (Not so) Deep Thoughts

Leave a Reply

