Crowdsourcing: Teaching Social Media for Business

I’ve recently been asked by a University of San Diego marketing professor to guest lecture on social media for business in her MBA class.  While other institutions dedicate an entire semester to teaching social media, I’ll be working with a little less time than that:  I’ve got one hour.

Photo: Flickr Creative Commons

I could probably start by showing Erik Qualman’s “Social Media Revolution 2 (Refresh),” but I think they may have already seen that.  I could start with some mind-blowing statistics about the growth of social media.  I could “borrow” some great ideas from presentations from notable gurus, ninjas, authors, and experts I’ve seen over the past three years.  I could even dig up some Harvard Business School case studies on social media for business.  I could do a lot of things, but I have only one hour.

So I thought I’d reach out to you, my regular readers and random guests who stumble upon my humble offerings for some help.

Crowdsourcing:  a term that Wikipedia claims came about in 2006.  A term so new that WordPress throws the spell-check flag (am I spelling it right?).  A term that means asking all of you what I should do with my one hour in front of MBA students who perhaps know more about social media than I assume.

So what do you think?  What should I cover in a marketing class with MBA students in one short hour on social media for business?  Who knows, my best responses might even get a mention in class.

I’d like to be able to point to this blog post as an example of building a social network (that has been cultivated online, as well as in person), asking said network for a little help, and receiving tons of thoughtful, engaging and inspiring feedback.  Is that so much to ask?

13 thoughts on “Crowdsourcing: Teaching Social Media for Business

  1. I would show how social media has made a difference or caused a change. You can talk about the relationships, customer service, conversations, rallying, etc but truly the medium has changed the way companies are doing business. Show examples of that. How money has been made. Operations have changed. What would have happened if it was ignored (how much money would Dell have lost out on? Reputations down the drain?). Maybe then they’ll see the true power?

    My two cents. 🙂

  2. Pingback: Tweets that mention Crowdsourcing: Teaching Social Media for Business « (Not so) Deep Thoughts -- Topsy.com

  3. Show the effects. Show the success stories. Answer the “why” they should do this — instead of the what. Many people know what Twitter is, but they haven’t used it. Show them why they need it.

    Also, tell them how to get involved and find out more information. It will be hard to explain everything in an hour, so provide them with resources, i.e. Social Media breakfast, meetups, social media club, etc.

    • Thanks, Natalie. I’m interested to know what your classmates might already understand about social media for business. I’ll stay away from Social Media 101 type stuff and stick more with the how and why. I’m thinking you’ll get a mention in class since some of them likely know you! 🙂

  4. John-
    Social media has helped increased traffic to business websites. You need to hook potential clients/customers in a tweet, blog, or status update to directed to your business. Many consumers are searching for referrals on Linked in, Plaxo, Yelp, and facebook—if you don’t have current pages, recommendations, and “grab ya” information displayed you don’t have a chance to get the potential client to research you further.. It’s important to keep these current and up to date. If you don’t put the effort in, someone else in the business does.
    Tracking analytics is very important in today’s marketing for business. Social media has increased the need for this and for the understanding of how to utilize this medium to the best interest of the company.
    Using Social Media for marketing is very different than traditional marketing and important to learn about in order to stay current and competitive. Most service based business has added a social media based marketing to their marketing plans.
    Another medium being used recently is constant contact. This continually puts your image, name and logo in front of potential customers.
    Here are some links that gave me a little more information:
    http://bigmoneyweb.com/utilizing-social-media-for-your-business/
    http://mashable.com/2011/02/28/social-media-tech-events-3/
    http://www.constantcontact.com/index.jsp

    • Ah, yes – the ever-important measurement aspect of social media. Some say you can’t measure the impact of social media. I’ll be sure to include info on the ways you can measure (often times better than traditional marketing methods). Thanks for the links, Josanne.

      See you soon,
      John

  5. I would spend 5 minutes on the power of audience specifying within social mecia advertising. Using facebook as the easiest example, your ads can not only target interests, but as a function of that, target behaviors. Something definitely worth exploring for any marketers with a defined audience!

  6. John you are gleaning awesome sauce! Here’s my two cents. I’d skip the 101 definitions and go straight to how social media impacts one’s personal life, business model, and the world. Maybe like a circle of influence graph. And, provide case studies to see it in action. I have a few public gbookmark lists you might pull from:
    Case studies social media #wins: https://www.google.com/bookmarks/l#!threadID=GZDwcOojqD9U%2FBDQyMggoQ-PvatOgl

    Case studies social media #fail:
    https://www.google.com/bookmarks/l#!threadID=GZDwcOojqD9U%2FBDSg8gwoQkrXjtOgl

    • Thanks, Melonie. I’ve put together what I think is a pretty good preso for my one hour – I’ll definitely reference your input and mention companies like Geary if they’d like to work in the digital marketing world! 🙂

Leave a Reply

