5 Must Have iPad Apps

I’ve been an iPad owner since November.  Some of you may remember the story of how I won an iPad & $200 to the Apple store from two separate drawings in the same day.  

While it hasn’t become a complete desktop/laptop replacement, it has been pretty useful.  Here are my top 5 iPad apps:

1.  Google.  Since I use many of the Google apps (Docs, Calendar, Reader), this one is a no-brainer.  One of the most-used apps for me.

2.  Dropbox.  In attempting to put all my important stuff in the ‘cloud’ I’ve discovered that Dropbox can be a quick and easy way for me to share PDFs and other documents that don’t require collaboration (e.g. directions to my office or a digital version of our brochure).  With a free 2GB of space, it’s pretty handy and syncs automatically on my laptop, iPhone, and iPad – so my docs are always up-to-date.

3.  Twitter.  On my laptop, I usually prefer Tweetdeck.  On the iPad, it’s a completely different story.  When the Twitter iPad app was first released, reviewers loved it.  I’ve grown to love the app, which allows me to ‘pull the thread’ on interesting tweets to visit websites, take a look at profiles, and see an entire conversation – all without losing my place on the original tweet.

4.  Netflix.  Ok, even though I recently expressed my discontent with Netflix and their streaming service, I still like the iPad app (I’m just frustrated with the seemingly few choices I have for good movies available for streaming – but that’s another post).  The app isn’t unlike the Netflix website: cleanly organized into categories.  Easy to use – and easy for me to quickly find “The Cat in the Hat Knows a Lot About That” for my son.  It’s the little things these days.

5.  Amplitube.  So this one may not be a “must have” iPad app, but I thought I’d throw it in anyway.  This app simulates a guitar amplifier, plain and simple.  Allows me to plug in and rock my Les Paul at 9pm, even when the little guy is sleeping.  The free version has some basic delay and distortion – which is fine for my rehearsal needs.  Maybe someday I’ll pay to add more features (e.g. different effects pedals, other amplifier models, etc).  It does come with a tuner, which is helpful all by itself.  Another cool standard (free) feature – the ability to record!

Ampiltube iPad app

While I’m sure I’ll find more useful apps in the coming months, these are a few that I’ve used the most in the early months of iPad ownership.

What are your favorite apps for the iPad?

Leave a Reply

