Three Books I Hope to Finish Before 2011

I’ll admit it.  I don’t read as many books as I’d like to these days, but I’m able to plow through about one a month.  Because of my graduate school experience at USD and my professional interests, the books I choose to read have changed a bit over the past few years – but I’m still interested in variety.  Lately, I’ve been reading books on marketing,  social media, and technology to keep up with trends, and to help me process what I find daily in my Google Reader.  Here are a few of my recent favorites:

Googled:  The end of the world as we know it, by Ken Auletta
I’m only about halfway through this one, so I’m still getting to some of the good stuff.  Basically, Auletta opens up the hood on one of the most powerful and fascinating companies in the world and the result is an easy, fast read that provides lots of history on how and why Google is such a force in business.

Socialnomics: How social media transforms the way we live and do business, by Erik Qualman
Again, I’m only part of the way through this one (noticing a trend here?), but it’s clear that this is a great book for marketers and non-marketers alike.  Using recent (2010) case studies and relevant examples, Qualman does a great job of explaining why businesses should embrace social media (just in case there are any holdouts left these days).  One item that jumped out at me was the subtitle; notice he says “transforms,” as in, it’s constantly changing.  Read it now before this is all old news.  In case you haven’t seen it, here’s a powerful video that was created along with the book.

Of course, I still like a good biography now and then, especially if it involves musicians.  Since I’ve seen CSN in concert twice now, I figured I’d give this one a go:

Crosby, Stills, & Nash: The biography, by Dave Zimmer and Henry Diltz
If you like old stories about old rockers, which I do – this one’s for you.  Endorsed in the preface by Graham Nash himself, this seems to be a pretty accurate, raw, and real version of the CSN story.  Again, only halfway through, so don’t tell me how it ends.

Photo credit: Robert Altman

2 thoughts on “Three Books I Hope to Finish Before 2011

    • Robert – thanks for letting me know. I’ve updated the photo caption to give you credit for the photo (Henry Diltz wrote the book I was reading at the time). Love the photo – thanks for allowing me to use it on my site!

Leave a Reply

